International Women’s Day 2012

Fleur……

The day I had my interview at Uni Glamorgan was the day I was told I could have a bursary that would cover my University fees, living expenses and materials allowance (books, USB sticks etc) and was the day I went to my first seminar, on Research methods. It was unbelievable – yet felt so right as the door just opened wide…. I feel very grateful.

So, in the light of this new step, and on International Women’s Day, I would like to share the words of an incredible theatre director from America called Anne Bogart’. I have this written out and up on my study wall – to remind myself daily to move forward and enjoy the journey.

“….how to handle the resistances…your circumstances might offer; Do not assume that you have to have some prescribed conditions to do your best work. Do not wait. Do not wait for enough time or money to accomplish what you think you have in mind. Work with what you have right now. Work with the people around you right now. Work with the architecture you see around you right now. Do not wait for what you assume is the appropriate, stress free environment in which to generate expression. Do not wait for maturity or insight or wisdom. Do not wait until you are sure that you know what you are doing. Do not wait  until you have enough technique. What you do now, what you make of your present circumstances will determine the quality and scope of your future endeavours. And, at the same time, be patient.”

Anne Bogart. A Director Prepares

Well it’s been a few months since I last checked in. How are you? Are you well and happy? I hope so. A lot has happened since our trip to China. I’ve moved house, started University again and see my future in a very different light. China was the catalyst to huge changes – a place where I had the space and inspiration to jump out of my box and into a different way of thinking.

I’m now studying a Masters in Drama at University Glamorgan (in Cardiff). It was in China that the idea began to study again. I was inspired by the Applied Drama work employed by Hua Dan, especially hearing stories about the work with female migrant workers in Beijing as well as the project Kalim and I were a part of in Mien Yang. Over dinner one day, pondering my future, Jess tentatively suggested doing an MA and after that spent a long time with me, discussing drama and suggesting I read ‘House of Games’ by Chris Johnston and other such key texts. I sat in the baking hot Hua Dan office one afternoon (fanning myself continually) immersed in the concept of Invisible Theatre from ‘Games for actors and non actors’ by Augusto Boal and realised I had to make the jump. I remember Kalim and I walking in the sun to buy doughnuts one Sunday. We were talking about what we would do when we returned to the UK and Kalim really encouraged me to apply for the course, telling me to believe in myself and know that I can achieve huge goals. I had no idea how I could afford to do an MA, or what work I could find to support  Ramin and myself while I studied. I just had faith that doors would open if I was meant to go in that direction.

Leave a Reply

